Book Review | I’ll Tell You in Person by Chloe Caldwell

Authour: Chloe Caldwell Format: Trade Paperback, 170 pages Publication date: October 4th 2016 Publisher: Coffee House Press Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: I found out about Chloe Caldwell’s second collection of essays, “I’ll Tell You in Person” through an article that was shared on Twitter. It spoke of the collection […]

Book Review | We Were on a Break by Lindsey Kelk

Authour: Lindsey Kelk Format: ARC, 404 pages Publication date: January 3rd 2017 Publisher: Harper Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: Okay, show of hands, how many of you thought of the TV show Friends when you hear “we were on a break”? That’s basically what came to mind when I saw the […]

Book Review | Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Authour: Erin Summerill Format: E-galley Publication date: December 27th 2016 Publisher: Harcourt Childrens Books Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: If you read my Raincoast Fall Preview post, then you would recall that Ever the Hunted was one of my most anticipated Fall/Winter 2016 releases. Thus I was beyond excited […]

Book Review | The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Authour: Nicola Yoon Format: ARC; 349 pages Publication date: November 1st 2016 Publisher: Delacorte Press Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: I’m probably one of the few bloggers who did not pick up Everything, Everything. To be frank, I didn’t feel that the book was for me. However, the person I passed […]

Book Review | Fate of Flames by Sarah Raughley

Authour: Sarah Raughley Format: ARC, 353 pages Publication date: November 22nd 2016 Publisher: Simon Pulse Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: The moment I heard it about a book that was pitched for fans of Sailor Moon, and Avatar in addition to featuring a group of kick butt female leads, […]

Mystery Monday | Murder at the House of Rooster Happiness by David Casarett

Mystery Mondays is an occasional review feature here on Words of Mystery that showcases books in the mystery (and on occasion thriller) genre that we are currently reading and our thoughts on them. Feel free to comment and leave suggestions as to what we should read and review next. Who is it by? David Casarett, […]

Book Review | Faithful by Alice Hoffman

Authour: Alice Hoffman Format: Egalley Publication date: November 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: Before Faithful, I’ve only read one book by Alice Hoffman which was Aquamarine, a book I read back when I was in elementary school. Thus, I wasn’t sure what to […]

Book Review | Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History by Sam Maggs

Authour: Sam Maggs Format: E-galley Publication date: October 4th 2016 Publisher: Quirk Books Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: I’m a total history buff and I love learning about kick butt women whose accomplishments have been mostly lost to history, thus this book was the ideal read for me. Furthermore, […]

Book Review | My (Part-Time) Paris Life: How Running Away Brought Me Home by Lisa Anselmo

Authour: Lisa Anselmo Format: E-galley Publication date: October 11th 2016 Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: As someone who has a close relationship with her mother, I can’t even begin to imagine my life without her. As a result, I felt this book would resonate with […]

Book Review | The Wangs vs. the World by Jade Chang

Authour: Jade Chang Format: ARC; 354 pages Publication date: October 4th 2016 Publisher: HarperAvenue Publisher Social Media: Twitter/Facebook/SavvyReader/ Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review. Review: The Wangs vs. World was a title that I was especially looking forward to this fall as it centres on an Asian American family embarking on […]